AsiaPatient

Hair Transplant Cost in Bangkok: Complete Pricing Guide

Updated September 2026 14 min read

Bangkok has become one of the world's top destinations for hair transplants - and pricing is the biggest reason why. Patients report paying ฿36-123 per graft ($1.09-$3.71) across five Bangkok clinics (31 reports and quotes, 2023 to 2025). For 2,500 grafts that is ฿90,000-307,500 ($2,720-$9,280) before travel. Dollars at ฿33.14 = $1 (European Central Bank reference rates, 22 September 2026).

But "cheap" doesn't mean one price fits all. Costs vary dramatically depending on the technique you choose, the number of grafts you need, and which clinic you book. This guide breaks down real prices from real Bangkok clinics so you can budget accurately - no guesswork, no bait-and-switch surprises.

Quick Answer: How Much Does a Hair Transplant Cost in Bangkok?

Three of the six clinics we track (Absolute, Bangkok Hair Clinic, Hairsmith) sit at ฿65-90 per graft, so 2,500 grafts there comes to ฿162,500-225,000 ($4,900-$6,790). Across all six, patients report ฿36-123. Here is what we can source by technique:

Technique Cost Per Graft 2,000 Grafts 3,000 Grafts
FUE, five clinics (patient reports) ฿36-123 ($1.09-$3.71) ฿72,000-246,000 ฿108,000-369,000
FUE at Absolute, Bangkok Hair Clinic, Hairsmith ฿65-90 ($1.96-$2.72) ฿130,000-180,000 ฿195,000-270,000
DHI (Implanter Pen) Only CosmoPrime lists one: ฿60-90 per graft, in a general price table on its own site DHI Thailand: about ฿50,000-100,000 (its 1,000-2,000 graft band) DHI Thailand: about ฿100,000-200,000 (its 2,000-4,000 graft band)
Non-Shaven FUE ฿100-120 ($3.02-$3.62), HairTran and Hairsmith ฿200,000-240,000 ฿300,000-360,000
FUT (strip method) One patient at DHT: ฿80 (Dr. Moo), ฿120 (Dr. Path) ($2.41-$3.62) ฿160,000-240,000 ฿240,000-360,000

Totals are our arithmetic on those per-graft figures, in baht, before travel. The FUT figures are one person's report, not a clinic rate. Dollars at ฿33.14 = $1 (European Central Bank reference rates, 22 September 2026).

Note: HairTran and Hairsmith include the Implanter Pen (DHI) at their FUE price. Only CosmoPrime lists a DHI rate, ฿60-90 per graft, in a general price table on its own site.

Work Out Your Own Number

Set your graft count and pick the procedure. Every rate below is one the clinic publishes on its own site, linked, with the date we read it. Clinics that publish nothing are listed as publishing nothing rather than filled in with a guess.

Hair Transplant Prices by Technique

FUE (Follicular Unit Extraction) - ฿36-123/graft reported

FUE is the most popular technique in Bangkok. Individual follicles are extracted from the donor area (back of head) using a micro-punch tool (0.8-1.0mm), then implanted into thinning areas.

What you'll pay, at the ฿36-123 per graft patients report across five clinics:

Best for: Most patients. Minimal scarring, 7-10 day recovery, 90-95% graft survival rate with experienced surgeons.

DHI (Direct Hair Implantation)

DHI uses a Choi Implanter Pen that creates the recipient site and implants the graft in a single step. This reduces the time grafts spend outside the body, potentially improving survival rates (92-97%).

What you'll pay: only CosmoPrime lists a DHI rate, ฿60-90 per graft, in a general price table on its own site. HairTran and Hairsmith include the Implanter Pen at their FUE price. DHI Thailand, a DHI-only clinic in Bangkok, publishes package bands from its "2025 data" (read 23 September 2026):

Best for: Hairline work requiring maximum precision, patients wanting highest possible density (35-40+ follicular units per cm²).

Non-Shaven FUE - ฿100-120/graft published

The premium option for patients who can't or don't want to shave their donor area. The procedure takes 7-9 hours instead of 4-6 and demands more surgeon skill.

What you'll pay, at the ฿100 per graft HairTran publishes and the ฿120 Hairsmith publishes:

Best for: Professionals who need to return to work quickly without visible signs of surgery. Women who want to maintain hair length.

FUT (Strip Method)

A strip of scalp is removed from the donor area and dissected into individual grafts. Leaves a linear scar but allows the highest graft yield per session (up to 4,000+).

What you'll pay: none of the Bangkok clinics we checked publishes an FUT rate. One patient on r/HairTransplants reported ฿80 per graft ($2.41) with Dr. Moo and ฿120 ($3.62) with Dr. Path at DHT Clinic. That is one person's report, not a clinic rate. At those rates, 2,000 grafts is ฿160,000-240,000 ($4,830-$7,240).

Thai Hair Clinic, which is in Chiang Mai, not Bangkok, publishes US$2.25 per graft for smaller FUT sessions, falling to US$1.89-2.20 for larger ones (about ฿63-75), on its own cost page (read 23 September 2026; the page says last updated 2024/2025).

Best for: Patients needing large graft counts who don't mind a linear scar.

Clinic-by-Clinic Pricing Comparison

Each row says where its figure comes from. A clinic's own published rate is the firmest. A patient-reported range comes from first-hand forum reports, and we give how many and over what period. Where a clinic publishes nothing and we found no reliable reports, we say so. Dollars at ฿33.14 = $1 (European Central Bank reference rates, 22 September 2026).

Clinic FUE Per Graft 2,500 Graft Total DHI Available Certifications
Absolute Hair Clinic ฿65-90 ($1.96-$2.72), patient-reported (7 reports, late 2023 to mid 2025) ~฿162,500-225,000 ($4,900-$6,790), worked out from the reported rates FUE + FUT ABHRS, ISHRS (both surgeons)
Hairtran Clinic (Dr. Patty) No standard FUE rate published. Patients reported ฿36-56 in 2023-2024, rising over time (10 reports and quotes; one 2025 comment claims ฿70). Non-Shaven FUE: ฿100 (clinic's own) Clinic's own starting price: ฿102,000 ($3,080), graft count not stated DHI included (standard) ABHRS, ISHRS
Hairsmith Clinic ฿80 ($2.41), clinic's own published rate ~฿200,000 ($6,040) DHI included (standard) ABHRS
Thai Hair Clinic (in Chiang Mai, not Bangkok) US$3.00 (about ฿99), clinic's own flat rate US$7,500 (about ฿248,600) FUE + FUT Established clinic
Bangkok Hair Clinic ฿40-200, the clinic's own general range across techniques. Patients report ฿65-75 (5 reports, 2024) ~฿162,500-187,500 ($4,900-$5,660), worked out from the reported rates DHI specialist ABHRS
Asia Cosmetic Hospital Publishes no price No reliable figure found. Ask for a written quote FUE + DHI JCI accredited
Cosmoprime (Dr. Dew) ฿40-70, from the clinic's own general price table ~฿100,000-175,000 ($3,020-$5,280), worked out from that table DHI + Long Hair Doctor-led

Where these figures come from. Absolute publishes no per-graft rate. Its own FUE page says only that FUE starts at around ฿30,000 depending on graft count (read 23 September 2026; the page says it was last modified 25 September 2023). The ฿65-90 range is from seven first-hand patient reports on r/HairTransplants and HairRestorationNetwork, for example August 2025, ฿90 with Dr. Laorwong, October 2024, quoted ฿80 with Dr. Panchaprateep and ฿90 with Dr. Laorwong, and late 2023, ฿70. Two threads agree that Dr. Panchaprateep charges less than Dr. Laorwong. HairTran's ฿102,000 starting price and ฿100 Non-Shaven rate are from its own FUE page and FAQ, read 23 September 2026. CosmoPrime's ฿40-70 is from its own cost page, read 23 September 2026; it reads as a general guide rather than a firm quote. Asia Cosmetic Hospital's hair transplant page lists its techniques and asks you to enquire about price; it publishes no figure (read 23 September 2026). Hairsmith and Bangkok Hair Clinic figures are from each clinic's own site, read 20 September 2026. Thai Hair Clinic is in Chiang Mai, not Bangkok. Its flat US$3.00 per graft for FUE is from its own pricing page, read 23 September 2026 (the page says last updated 2024/2025). We previously showed a flat ฿90 per graft for Absolute and a ~฿125,000 package for Asia Cosmetic. Neither clinic publishes those figures, so they are gone.

What's Included (Varies by Clinic)

Hairsmith Clinic stands out for transparency - their ฿80/graft price includes:

Hairtran Clinic includes:

Asia Cosmetic Hospital publishes no package contents for hair transplants. If you want a hospital package, ask for an itemized quote that names the graft count, the hotel nights and the follow-up period.

Always ask clinics for an itemized list of what's included before comparing prices.

Total Trip Cost Breakdown

The procedure is only part of the expense. Here's what a complete Bangkok hair transplant trip actually costs for an international patient:

Expense Budget Mid-Range Premium
Procedure (2,500 grafts FUE) ฿90,000 (฿36/graft, lowest patient report) ฿162,500-225,000 (฿65-90/graft) ฿307,500 (฿123/graft, highest patient report)
Flights (return, from Australia) ฿15,000-25,000 ฿20,000-35,000 ฿35,000-60,000
Hotel (5-7 nights) ฿5,000-10,000 ฿15,000-25,000 ฿35,000-70,000
Food & Transport ฿3,000-5,000 ฿5,000-10,000 ฿10,000-20,000
Airport Transfers ฿600-1,000 (Grab) ฿600-1,000 (Grab) ฿600-1,000 (Grab)
TOTAL ฿113,600-131,000 ฿203,100-296,000 ฿388,100-458,500
TOTAL (USD) $3,430-$3,950 $6,130-$8,930 $11,710-$13,840

Procedure rows are our arithmetic on what patients report paying across five Bangkok clinics. Flight, hotel, food and transfer figures are our own planning assumptions, not quotes. We removed a travel insurance line because we could not source its price. Dollars at ฿33.14 = $1 (European Central Bank reference rates, 22 September 2026).

Recommended stay: 7-10 days. Minimum 3-5 days (procedure + initial recovery and follow-up).

Pro tip: Sukhumvit area hotels (near Nana, Asok, Thong Lo, Ekkamai BTS stations) put you close to most top clinics. We budget $40-80 a night for a mid-range hotel there, our own planning assumption, not a quote.

Bangkok vs. Other Countries

What clinics elsewhere publish, in their own currency (read 21 September 2026). We do not convert them or add travel, because the prices cover different things.

Country What is published What it covers
Bangkok, Thailand Patients report ฿36-123 a graft ($1.09-$3.71); ฿90,000-307,500 ($2,720-$9,280) for 2,500 grafts, our arithmetic Surgery only
Turkey Packages: Smile Hair Clinic €2,390-€5,790, Cosmedica €2,550-€8,000, Hermest €2,890-€5,450 Surgery with hotel and transfers
South Korea Woomchan Hair Clinic: FUE ₩8.25-11 million (the clinic converts it to $6,000-$8,000), graft count not stated Surgery only
United States New York clinics Maxim $3.95-$6.00 a graft and Nova Medical $3.99-$7.99 a graft. Bosley says a procedure "typically costs between $4,400 and $12,000" Surgery only
United Kingdom Westminster Medical Group, London: £6,900 for 2,500 grafts Surgery only
Australia Crown Clinic: A$4,990 for about 1,500 grafts Surgery only

Bangkok vs. Turkey - The Real Comparison

Comparing with Turkey isn't straightforward:

Package Deals: What's Typically Included

Some Bangkok clinics and hospitals sell packages for international patients. We have no sourced package price to show, so ask for a written, itemized quote. What a package can include:

Standard Package

Premium Package

Everything above plus:

Budget Option

Hidden Costs to Watch For

The quoted per-graft price isn't always the final bill. Ask about these before you commit:

Medications beyond the included period. Clinics include different amounts of hair growth medication. Hairsmith includes 12 months, and its own cost page says some clinics charge ฿1,000-5,000 a month ($30-$150).

PRP therapy sessions. Platelet-rich plasma therapy is often recommended post-transplant. Not always included in the base price. OpenHouse Clinic Bangkok charges ฿6,500 for one session or ฿22,000 for four (about $200 or $660), read 23 September 2026.

Touch-up procedures. If areas don't grow well, will the clinic fix it for free? Hairsmith offers a written guarantee; others may charge for operating room fees even if the touch-up grafts are "free."

Corrective work. If you've had a previous transplant elsewhere that went poorly, corrective work usually costs more. Ask for the corrective rate in writing.

Extended follow-up visits. After the included follow-up period ends, are additional consultations free? Get this in writing.

The question to ask every clinic: "Give me an itemized list of everything included in my quote, and everything that might cost extra." Any clinic that won't answer this clearly is a red flag.

Getting the Best Value Without Compromising Quality

Do This

Get quotes from 3-5 clinics. Consultations are free at every reputable Bangkok clinic. Send photos of your hair loss and get personalized graft estimates and pricing. For top clinic options, compare credentials alongside price.

Verify surgeon credentials. Check ABHRS certification at abhrs.org and ISHRS membership at ishrs.org. Check the credential before you compare the price.

Ask who actually performs the procedure. The surgeon should personally handle extraction and implantation - not just "supervise" while technicians do the work. In Thailand, only licensed physicians may legally perform hair transplants.

Don't Do This

Don't choose the cheapest option by default. A low price alone is not proof of bad work (patients reported paying ฿36-56 per graft at HairTran in 2023-2024), so ask who does the extraction and who places the grafts. You only have one donor area - a botched transplant depletes your donor supply and corrective surgery costs significantly more than doing it right the first time.

Don't skip medical travel insurance. Hair transplant is elective surgery - your regular health insurance won't cover complications. Specialized medical travel insurance covers complications, corrective procedures, and emergency evacuation.

Don't book without a video consultation. Any reputable clinic will do a free video call with the surgeon. This lets you assess their English, expertise, and communication style before committing.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does 2,000 grafts cost in Bangkok?

Patients report paying ฿36-123 per graft for FUE across five Bangkok clinics (31 reports and quotes, 2023 to 2025), which for 2,000 grafts is ฿72,000-246,000 ($2,170-$7,420). At the ฿65-90 that most reports at three of those clinics fall at (Absolute, Bangkok Hair Clinic, Hairsmith), it is ฿130,000-180,000 ($3,920-$5,430). Only CosmoPrime lists separate rates, in a general price table on its own site: DHI ฿60-90 and FUT ฿30-50 per graft. Dollars at ฿33.14 = $1 (European Central Bank reference rates, 22 September 2026).

How do Bangkok prices compare with the US or UK?

It depends on the clinic. At three of the Bangkok clinics we track, most patient reports fall at ฿65-90 per graft, which is ฿162,500-225,000 ($4,900-$6,790) for 2,500 grafts. New York clinics Maxim and Nova Medical publish $3.95-$7.99 per graft, which is $9,880-$19,980 for 2,500 grafts, and Bosley says a procedure typically costs $4,400-$12,000. In London, Westminster Medical Group charges £6,900 for 2,500 grafts. The most expensive Bangkok figure patients report, ฿123 per graft at DHT, comes to $9,280 for 2,500 grafts, which is inside Bosley's range.

Is FUE or DHI worth the price difference?

In Bangkok, several clinics (Hairtran, Hairsmith) include DHI at no extra cost - making the choice purely clinical rather than financial. Where there is a price difference, DHI offers slightly higher graft survival rates (92-97% vs 90-95%) and better precision for hairline work. For most patients, either technique delivers excellent results with an experienced surgeon.

Can I negotiate the price?

Per-graft rates are generally fixed at reputable clinics. We found no documented case of a Bangkok clinic lowering its per-graft rate on request. Ask instead what the price includes, such as PRP and medications.

How many grafts will I need?

Depends on your hair loss stage (Norwood Scale):

  • Norwood 2-3 (early thinning/receding hairline): 1,000-1,500 grafts
  • Norwood 3-4 (moderate loss): 1,500-2,500 grafts
  • Norwood 4-5 (significant loss): 2,500-3,500 grafts
  • Norwood 5-7 (advanced baldness): 3,500-5,000+ grafts (often requires 2 sessions)

Only a surgeon can give you an accurate estimate during consultation.

Do I need multiple sessions? How does that affect cost?

If you need 3,500+ grafts, most surgeons recommend splitting into two sessions (8-12 months apart) to protect donor area health. Each session is priced separately. Example: 2,500 grafts (session 1) + 2,000 grafts (session 2) at the ฿36-123 per graft patients report comes to ฿162,000-553,500 ($4,890-$16,700) in total.

What's NOT included in the quoted price?

Typically excluded: accommodation, flights, airport transfers (though some clinics include these), meals, medications beyond the included period (usually 3-12 months depending on clinic), additional PRP sessions, and travel insurance. Always request an itemized breakdown.

Are consultations free?

Yes - at every reputable Bangkok clinic. Be suspicious of any clinic charging for an initial consultation. The consultation should include scalp analysis, graft estimate, technique recommendation, and a detailed written quote.

Next Steps

Bangkok offers ABHRS-certified surgeons and modern facilities. The key is doing your homework: verify credentials, compare itemized quotes, and choose quality over the lowest per-graft rate.

Ready to get real quotes? Start by requesting free consultations from 3-5 top Bangkok clinics - send photos of your current hair loss and get personalized graft estimates and pricing within 48 hours.

Ready to Compare Bangkok Clinics?

Get free consultations from 3-5 top Bangkok clinics. Compare real prices, verify credentials, and book with confidence.

Compare Top Clinics →